Iowa Women’S Leadership Conference Announces Speaker Line-up

Alison joins poet Dr. Maya Angelou, White House press secretaries Dee Dee Myers and Dana Perino and  Sharon Allen, chairman of Deloitte LLP at the Iowa Women’s Leadership Conference which takes place on April 26th.

Iowa Women’s Leadership Conference announces 2011 program schedule

January 26, 2011

Iowa City, Iowa—The Iowa Women’s Leadership Conference has announced the presenters and program for its 2011 conference, taking place April 26-27 at the Coralville Marriott and Convention Center in Coralville, Iowa.

Among the event’s featured speakers will be Dr. Maya Angelou, the celebrated American poet, memoirist, novelist, educator, dramatist, producer, actress, historian, filmmaker, and civil rights activist. Other presenters include White House press secretaries Dee Dee Myers and Dana Perino; Sharon Allen, chairman of Deloitte LLP; Allison Levine, team captain of the first American Women’s Everest Expedition; and supermodel and author Emme.

The Iowa Women’s Leadership Conference, now in its fifth year, is dedicated to informing, inspiring, and challenging women leaders. The conference is a grassroots effort, organized entirely by volunteers. Open to everyone, the event was organized to fill an identified void in advanced educational programming targeted toward established female executives, elected officials, academics and other professional women. The 2010 conference luncheon, held at the Coralville Marriott and featuring personal financial guru Suze Orman, drew more than 1,100 attendees.

Lead sponsor for the 2011 Iowa Women’s Leadership Conference is Rockwell Collins; platinum sponsor is Alliant Energy; silver sponsors include Pearson, HyVee, Aegon, and Iowa Health System.

Registration for the 2011 conference begins February 1. For a complete list of speakers, sponsors, program details, and registration information, visit the conference web site at